SAS Doctors

HEE Wessex is committed to the personal and professional development of Specialty and Specialist (SAS) doctors.

Wessex was the first UK local office to appoint an Associate Dean for SAS doctors, and is proud to continue this supportive tradition.

Wessex recognises that while SAS doctors are clinically able and tend to keep up to date in their discipline, they often need specific support or training to take on additional roles and reach their full potential. Employing trusts have a responsibility to direct SAS doctors towards appropriate development activities and to make the necessary funds and time available for them to undertake these.

Wellbeing and support

Any Wessex SAS doctor who finds their professional circumstances particularly challenging should talk with their SAS tutor in the first instance. SAS tutors can support SAS doctors by helping them explore wider opportunities. Wessex SAS doctors may also find our HEE Wessex Wellbeing and support pages useful.

Further information and resources

List of Wessex SAS Tutors

Dorset NHS Foundation Trust
Paul Barker – p.barker5@nhs.net

Dorset County Hospital
Alex Klink – Aleksandr.Klink@dchft.nhs.uk

Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Arun Selvaraju – Arun.Selvaraju@hhft.nhs.uk
Gayatri Daniel – Gayatri.Daniel@hhft.nhs.uk
Ruby Parmar – Ruby.Parmar@hhft.nhs.uk

Isle of Wight NHS Trust
Ramesh Chandrabhansingh – chandrabhan.singh@nhs.net

Jersey General Hospital
Oliver Leeming – o.leeming@health.gov.je
Muhammad Aleem – M.Aleem@health.gov.je
Nitin Handel – n.handel@health.gov.je

Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
Ashik Shetty – ashik.shetty@porthosp.nhs.uk

Royal Bournemouth Hospital
Vanessa Bell – Vanessa.bell@uhd.nhs.uk

Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
Rashi Arora – rashi.arora1@nhs.net

Solent NHS Trust
Rebecca Mcinnes – SASTutors@solent.nhs.uk
Zoe Saunders – SASTutors@solent.nhs.uk

University Hospital Southampton
Jyothi Sambhani – jyothi.sambhani@uhs.nhs.uk

Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust
Kelly Willsher – SASTutors@southernhealth.nhs.uk
Anna Evans – SASTutors@southernhealth.nhs.uk

University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust
Mark Pitchers – Mark.Pitchers@uhd.nhs.uk

Learning and development opportunities

Funding

Starting a CESR application

Contact us

The Associate Dean for Wessex SAS doctors is Dr Julia Harris.

The Programme Director for SAS doctors is Dr Ruby Parmar.

For further information, or administrative support, please email SASDoctors.Wx@hee.nhs.uk